With Gmail’s Undo Send feature, you have up to 30 seconds to stop an email from being delivered. Find out how to enable and use this feature.
If you regularly send emails, you probably have clicked the “Send” button and then realized you shouldn’t have. Perhaps you forgot to attach a file or realized that you misspelled someone’s name. If you have Google Gmail, you can rest easy knowing that you can stop the email from being sent with a single click.
With Gmail’s Undo Send feature, you have up to 30 seconds to stop an email from being delivered. This feature is disabled by default, so many Gmail users do not know about it.
To enable Gmail’s Undo Send feature, follow these steps:
- Open Gmail.
- In the top right corner, click the gear icon.
- Choose “Settings” from the menu that appears.
- Check the “Enable Undo Send” box in the “Undo Send” section of the “Settings” page.
- In the “Send cancellation period” drop-down list, select the timeframe. Your options are 5, 10, 20, and 30 seconds. If you want to give yourself the longest possible window, select 30 seconds.
- At the bottom of the “Settings” page, click the “Save Changes” button.
Once you have enabled the feature, you will see the “Undo” option shown in Figure 1 whenever you send an email. You can stop an email from being delivered by clicking this option within the timeframe you configured in step 5. However, during that time, you cannot navigate away from the Gmail page displaying the “Undo” option. If you do, the option disappears and you will be unable to cancel the send operation.
The Undo Send feature is available when you access Gmail with your computer’s web browser or with the Gmail app on an iPhone or iPad device. The feature is not available if you are using the Gmail app on an Android device. However, you can configure Gmail to send you confirmation alerts. Emails won’t be delivered until you confirm that you want them sent.